top of page



For more detail history of MD37 & MD C click here

1917 to 1940


1917…Although Montana had no Lions clubs at the time it was included with Wyoming and was called District 3 (one of the nine districts in the USA)

1921...all of the USA was redistricted. Wyoming and Montana became District 15. Billing Lions Club was chartered in 1921.

1926…Montana was separated from Wyoming and was designated the 37th District of Lions International. After the separation of Wyoming and Montana Billings Lions would become the first club in MD37.(Julius Wuerthner was District Governor for District 37 in 1926-27)

1929…The Calgary Lions club and the Edmonton Lions club were formed.

1930…Now International Director Julius Wuerthner recommended that Alberta become a permanent part of District 37 and on July 1, 1931 Alberta was added to Montana and became a part of District 37

1940 to 1960


1942…Two District Governors (James Wallace of Edmonton, Alberta and Stuart DesRosier of Browning, Montana) were elected to serve District 37…this was the start of Multiple District 37. 1946-47…MD 37 had three sub districts… A, B, & C. 1948-49…MD 37 had four sub districts…A, B, C, & D. 1959-60…MD 37 had five sub districts…A, B, C, D, & E.

1960 to 2000


1966-67…MD 37 had six sub districts…A, B, C, D, E, & F. 1976-77…MD 37 had eight sub districts…A, B, C, D, E, F, G & H 1987-88…MD 37 redistricted seven sub districts…A, B, C, D, E, F, & G

2004 to 2014-15


2004…….MD37 redistricted to five districts, L,I,O,N, & S

2014-15 to Present

Montana became District 37 and remainder of MD 37 became MD C (consisting of District C-1 and C-2)

bottom of page